inx960x640Each week seems to bring some new vaping regulations around the world, concerning its producing, sale and usage. While regulating the industry from a safety point of view is certainly not a bad thing, there are some countries that are implementing outright bans on vaping. However, many countries in Europe still consider e-cigarettes safe and do not introduce any regulations regarding this industry.

Here is a list of the most and least vape- friendly countries from around the continent for the year 2017.

According to the data, e-cigarettes and e-liquids are sold without regulations in the following countries:

Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Gibraltar, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland and Russia.

Some Restrictions exist in:

Belgium: Nicotine-containing e-liquid can only be sold if the cartridge contains no more than 2ml of product and no more than 20 mg/ml of nicotine. No vaping products can be sold to those under 16.

Croatia: E-cigarettes are classed as tobacco products and cannot be used in public buildings, advertised or sold to minors.

Czech Republic: E-cigarettes are regulated identically to tobacco cigarettes so cannot be sold to minors and can only be purchased in outlets authorized to sell cigarettes. However, advertising is legal.

Estonia: While e-cigarettes were previously banned, this was overturned in 2013 and the TPD has led to legislation becoming more relaxed.

France and Germany: E-liquids are considered medical products and no e-liquid or e-cigarettes can be sold to those under 18.

Greece: Marketing of e-cigarettes is banned and no nicotine-containing products can be sold to those under 18.

Ireland: Vaping is currently not covered by the country’s smoking ban but marketing activities are restricted.

Italy: Nicotine-containing e-liquids and cartridges cannot be sold to those under 18 and fines can be anywhere from €200-2500.

Liechtenstein: Vaping products cannot be sold to those under 16.

Malta: Vaping products cannot be sold to those under 18. As of 2010 vaping products are considered tobacco products and regulated under the Tobacco (Smoking Control) Act.

Norway: Nicotine-containing e-liquids and cartridges can only be imported from other EEA member states, for private use only.

Romania: As of 2016 e-liquids have an excise duty.

Spain: Vaping products cannot be sold to those under 18. The Spanish Ministry of Health has stated the additional regulations concerning the use and sale of e-cigarettes will be introduced.

Sweden: Nicotine-containing e-liquids and cartridges cannot be sold to those under 18.

Switzerland:Nicotine-free e-liquids and cartridges are unregulated. Nicotine-containing e-liquids cannot be sold within the country but can be imported from overseas for personal use.

UK: Advertising and marketing is regulated by TPD and vaping products cannot be sold to those under 18.

Strict Restrictions take place in:

Austria: Nicotine-containing e-liquid and e-cigarettes are classed as medicinal and cannot be sold without a license

Denmark: Nicotine-containing e-liquid is classed as medicinal and cannot currently be sold. However, nicotine-free e-liquids can be purchased.

Finland: Nicotine-containing cartridges are prohibited but can be purchased from abroad for private use. Nicotine-free products can be purchased.

Hungary: Nicotine-containing e-liquids and cartridges are no longer banned but are heavily regulated.

Portugal: Vaping in public places is banned.

Turkey: Vaping products cannot be imported via mail or courier and vaping is banned indoors and on public transport with a full ban for under 18.